Wednesday, July 24, 2024
we are hiring bened softwares
Vinkmag ad

AP MLC Elections Update 

AP MLC Elections Update 


The ruling TDP (Telugu Desam Party), which recently formed the government, is facing tension over the upcoming MLC (Member of Legislative Council) elections. With two members already leaving YSRCP (Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party) and joining TDP, their positions are now vacant. Consequently, the list of aspirants for these MLC posts is growing.

There are rumors that MLA Balakrishna, Chandrababu Naidu’s brother-in-law, is pressuring Naidu to give one of the MLC positions to a specific leader. Despite only recently assuming power, Naidu is reportedly expressing frustration over this new pressure.

Another election is on the horizon in Andhra Pradesh. The schedule for the election of Legislative Council members has been released. Nominations will be accepted from July 2, with the election scheduled for July 12. The vacancies arose following the resignations of C. Ramachandraiah and Iqbal, who left YSRCP for TDP. These positions, with a two-year term, are likely to go to TDP, given the party’s current strength of 164 MLAs in the assembly, making it easy to win the MLC seats through the MLA quota.

Having won power with a resounding victory, TDP is now preparing to secure a win in the MLC elections. Although a win seems certain, there is suspense over who will get the opportunity. Aspirants are hopeful, buoyed by promises from party leaders.

There is anticipation among leaders from three parties about who will secure the positions. Even some senior leaders, who have competed and won multiple times before, are hopeful of getting the MLC seats this time. Varma, who gave up his seat in the last election for Pawan Kalyan, is confident of his chance, with Kalyan voting for him and Naidu promising him the first position. Hence, Varma’s MLC seat is seen as guaranteed.

Meanwhile, MLA Balakrishna is reportedly recommending Iqbal for an MLC seat, in recognition of his efforts towards a hat-trick victory. Additionally, the name of TDP leader Vangaveeti Radha has surfaced, adding to the suspense over who will get the opportunity.

Vinkmag ad

Read Previous

MK Stalin to PM Modi, 8 Other CMs: 

Read Next

Major Reforms in the Legal System: New Laws Introduced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *