Tuesday, June 25, 2024
HomeEventsNDA Secures Third Term with Stronghold in Key States, INDI Alliance Mounts a Resilient Challenge

NDA Secures Third Term with Stronghold in Key States, INDI Alliance Mounts a Resilient Challenge

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has clinched a third consecutive term in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Despite falling short of their ambitious “abki baar, 400-paar” target, the NDA managed to secure 293 seats, surpassing the 272-seat majority mark needed to form the government. The Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) put up a robust fight, winning 235 seats and dominating in several key battleground states.

Uttar Pradesh: A Stiff Contest with INDIA Alliance Leading

In Uttar Pradesh, a critical battleground state with 80 Lok Sabha seats, the INDIA alliance outperformed the NDA, securing 43 seats. The Samajwadi Party, leading the INDIA bloc in UP, won 37 seats, while the Congress took 6. The NDA managed 36 seats, with the BJP winning 33, the RLD 2, and the Apna Dal-Sonelal party 1. This marked a significant change from the 2019 elections when the NDA had dominated the state with 62 seats.

Maharashtra: INDIA Alliance Triumphs

Maharashtra witnessed a tight race between the NDA and the INDIA alliance. The INDIA bloc emerged victorious with 30 seats: Congress won 13, Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena 9, and Sharad Pawar’s NCP 8. The NDA secured 17 seats, with the BJP winning 9, Eknath Shinde’s Shiv Sena faction 7, and Ajit Pawar’s NCP faction 1. The splits within Shiv Sena and NCP significantly influenced the electoral dynamics.

West Bengal: TMC Strengthens Hold

In West Bengal, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) expanded its lead, winning 29 seats, while the BJP secured 12 seats, a reduction from its 2019 tally. The Congress won 1 seat. High-profile TMC candidates like Abhishek Banerjee and Mahua Moitra successfully retained their constituencies, further consolidating TMC’s dominance in the state.

Bihar: A Mixed Bag

Bihar saw a diverse outcome with the NDA and INDIA alliance sharing the spoils. The Janata Dal-United (JDU) won 12 seats, BJP 12, Congress 3, Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) 5, and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) 4. Other smaller parties also made their mark, indicating a fragmented political landscape.

Tamil Nadu: INDIA Alliance Sweeps

Tamil Nadu showcased a landslide victory for the INDIA alliance, led by the DMK, which won 38 out of 39 seats. The DMK itself secured 22 seats, Congress 9, and other alliance partners took the remaining seats. The BJP and its allies failed to make a significant impact.

Madhya Pradesh: BJP Clean Sweep

Madhya Pradesh continued its trend of BJP dominance, with the party winning all 29 Lok Sabha seats. This marks the third consecutive election where the BJP has swept the state, indicating strong support for the party in this central Indian state.

Karnataka: BJP-JD(S) Alliance Holds Ground

In Karnataka, the BJP-JD(S) alliance won 19 out of 28 seats, while the Congress secured the remaining 9 seats. The alliance dynamics and key candidate performances played a crucial role in maintaining BJP’s strong presence in the state.

Gujarat: BJP Retains Majority

Gujarat, a BJP stronghold, saw the party winning 24 out of 26 seats. The Congress managed to secure 2 seats, breaking the BJP’s clean sweep from the previous elections. This state remains pivotal for the BJP, being the home state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah.

Andhra Pradesh: TDP-Led NDA Sweeps

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) led the NDA to a commanding victory in Andhra Pradesh, winning 16 out of 25 seats. The YSR Congress Party secured 4 seats, while the BJP and Janasena Party (JSP) won 3 and 2 seats respectively. This victory extends to the state assembly, where TDP and its allies claimed a majority.

Rajasthan: Congress Makes Significant Gains

Rajasthan saw the Congress making substantial inroads, winning 8 out of 25 seats. The BJP secured 14 seats, while other smaller parties and independents won the remaining seats. This marks a notable shift from the previous elections where the BJP had almost swept the state.

Odisha: BJP Overthrows BJD

In a significant political shift, the BJP unseated the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Odisha, winning 19 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats. The BJD and Congress every gained one seat. This victory extended to the state assembly, where the BJP also secured a majority.

Kerala: Congress Leads, BJP Gains

In Kerala, the Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) won 17 out of 20 seats, with the Congress taking 14. The BJP made its first significant entry into the state’s Lok Sabha seats with Suresh Gopi winning in Thrissur. The CPI(M) secured one seat.

Telangana: Split Results

Telangana’s 17 seats were evenly contested with both the BJP and Congress leading in 8 seats each. The Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) failed to secure any seats, marking a setback for the party. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM won the Hyderabad constituency.

Other States and Union Territories

– Assam: BJP retained its 9 seats, Congress won 3, and the UPPL and AGP each won one seat.

– Jharkhand: BJP led in 9 seats, while Congress-JMM alliance secured 5.

– Punjab: Congress won 7 seats, AAP 3, and SAD 1.

– Chhattisgarh: BJP won 10 seats, Congress secured 1.

– Haryana: Both BJP and Congress won 5 seats each.

– Delhi, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura: All saw a clean sweep by the BJP.

ConclusionThe 2024 Lok Sabha elections highlighted the dynamic and competitive nature of Indian politics, with the NDA securing a third term despite a formidable challenge from the INDIA alliance. The results indicate a mix of strongholds for both alliances, with regional parties playing crucial roles in several states.

More like this

Notification Issued for Speaker Election: Om Birla and Purandeshwari in the Race! 

The political excitement surrounding the election of a new...

Anushka Shetty Faces Shooting Challenge Due to Rare Disease   

Anushka Shetty, who has made a mark in Telugu,...

Ticket Price Hike Approved for Kalki in Andhra Pradesh!    

On June 27, Nag Ashwin's Kalki 2898 AD, starring...

CM Revanth Reddy Special Focus on Warangal   

On June 28, Telangana Chief Minister Revanth Reddy is...

Top Stories