Saturday, June 22, 2024
HomeAndhra PradeshThree Andhra Pradesh MPs Join Modi Cabinet 3.0

Three Andhra Pradesh MPs Join Modi Cabinet 3.0

New Appointments from Andhra Pradesh

In a significant political move, two MPs from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and one from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have been inducted into the new Modi-led NDA cabinet in New Delhi. The newly appointed ministers are Dr. Pemmasani Chandrasekhar from Guntur, Kinjarapu Ram Mohan Naidu from Srikakulam, and Bhupatiraju Srinivas Varma from Narsapuram. 

Notable Exclusions and Surprising Inclusions

Interestingly, the BJP high command did not select any turncoat MPs for ministerial positions this time. Notable figures like state BJP chief Daggubati Purandeswari and CM Ramesh, who had vigorously lobbied for cabinet posts, were bypassed. Instead, the focus shifted to loyal saffron activist and leader, Srinivas Varma.

Oath-Taking Ceremony

Ram Mohan Naidu, Dr. Chandrasekhar, and Srinivas Varma were officially sworn in as Union ministers on Sunday. This marks the first time since 1999 that the state BJP has secured a berth in the Union Cabinet. Previously, Telugu cine actor Krishnam Raju and SBPBK Satyanarayana Rao served as deputy ministers in the Vajpayee cabinet in 1998. Srinivas Varma, who has been with the BJP for 34 years, expressed gratitude to the parties and leadership that supported his candidacy.

Background of the New Ministers

Dr. Pemmasani Chandrasekhar hails from Burripalem village near Tenali. He achieved this milestone by winning the Guntur MP seat on his first attempt. Active in the NRI wing of the TDP, Dr. Chandrasekhar’s candidacy was initially considered for the Narasaraopeta MP seat in 2014 but was given to Rayapati Sambasiva Rao instead. Dr. Chandrasekhar comes from a family with deep roots in the TDP; his father, Sambasiva Rao, was a party activist. Committed to his role, Dr. Chandrasekhar aims to attract investments and industries to develop Andhra Pradesh comprehensively.

Kinjarapu Ram Mohan Naidu, a three-time MP from Srikakulam, is the son of Kinjarapu Errannaidu, who also served as a Union minister. Ram Mohan Naidu expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the people of Srikakulam district and acknowledged the guidance and encouragement from TDP leader Chandrababu Naidu, as well as the support from other leaders like Lokesh Anna, Pawan Kalyan, and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He also paid tribute to his family’s sacrifices and the blessings of his late father.

Bhupatiraju Srinivas Varma, representing the BJP from Narsapuram, is the first BJP MP from Andhra Pradesh to join the central cabinet since 1999. With 34 years of dedicated service to the BJP, Srinivas Varma thanked the saffron high command for the opportunity and expressed his commitment to furthering the party’s mission and goals.

Looking Ahead

The induction of these three MPs into the Union Cabinet signifies a strategic move to strengthen the political representation and development agenda of Andhra Pradesh within the central government. Each of these leaders brings a unique background and a strong commitment to their constituencies, promising to work towards the betterment of the state in various sectors. 

This new phase in Andhra Pradesh’s political landscape highlights the importance of collaboration between the state and central government, aiming to drive growth, development, and welfare for the people of Andhra Pradesh.

More like this

NEET fiasco: Congress, Left affiliated students unions try to lay siege to Kishan Reddy’s house

Hyderabad: Mild tension prevailed at the residence of Union...

Andhra-born Distributor to Head Telugu Film Chamber

Hyderabad, India – With the Telugu Desam Party coming...

Ayyanna Patrudu Elected as AP Assembly Speaker

Amaravati, Andhra Pradesh – The senior TDP leader and...

Top Stories